List of AFC Asian Cup Winners (1956 – 2019)

The AFC Asian Cup, an esteemed association football competition initiated in 1956, stands as a premier event for the men’s national teams within the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), the governing body for football in Asia. Contested every four years, the AFC Asian Cup has a rich history of competitive football, showcasing the prowess and skill of participating nations.

The imminent commencement of the AFC Asian Cup 2024 has sparked widespread interest among football enthusiasts, with many seeking to explore the tournament’s legacy through the comprehensive list of past winners. Here, we present a detailed overview of the victorious teams from 1956 to 2019, shedding light on the triumphs and battles that have defined this prestigious tournament.

Also Read: List of AFC Asian Cup 2024 Team Nicknames

AFC Asian Cup Winners
AFC Asian Cup Winners

List of AFC Asian Cup Winners (1956 – 2019)

The AFC Asian Cup’s history is marked by remarkable achievements and thrilling encounters among nations vying for continental glory. Here’s a chronological breakdown of the tournament winners and runners-up in each edition from 1956 to 2019:

1956South KoreaIsrael
1960South KoreaIsrael
1972IranSouth Korea
1980KuwaitSouth Korea
1984Saudi ArabiaChina
1988Saudi ArabiaSouth Korea
1992JapanSaudi Arabia
1996Saudi ArabiaUnited Arab Emirates
2000JapanSaudi Arabia
2007IraqSaudi Arabia
2015AustraliaSouth Korea

Who has won the AFC Asian Cup Most Times?

Japan holds the distinction of being the most successful team in the history of the AFC Asian Cup, having clinched the title on four occasions. Their triumphs occurred in 1992 against Saudi Arabia (1-0), in 2000 against Saudi Arabia, in 2004 against China, and in 2011 against Australia. The Japanese national team’s consistent success has left an indelible mark on the tournament’s legacy.

Which Team Won the First/Inaugural Edition of the AFC Asian Cup?

The AFC Asian Cup commenced in 1956, with South Korea claiming the inaugural championship. The format was a round-robin, and no final match was played. The first official final occurred in 1972, witnessing Iran emerging victorious against South Korea.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *