List of Chicago Blackhawks Head Coaches (1926-2024)

Chicago Blackhawks Head Coaches
Chicago Blackhawks Head Coaches

The Chicago Blackhawks, a storied franchise in the National Hockey League (NHL), have witnessed the guidance of numerous head coaches since their inception in 1926. Over nearly a century, these coaches have left an indelible mark on the team’s history, contributing to its successes and enduring legacy. In this article, we delve into the comprehensive list of Chicago Blackhawks head coaches from 1926 to 2024, examining their tenures, achievements, and the evolution of coaching styles that have shaped the team’s identity.

Also Read: List of Carolina Hurricanes Head Coaches (1997-2024)

List of Chicago Blackhawks Head Coaches (1926-2024)

1Pete Muldoon*1926–1927 
2Barney Stanley*1927–1928 
3Hughie Lehman*1928 
4Herb Gardiner*1928–1929 
5Dick Irvin1929 
6Tom Shaughnessy*1929–1930 
7Bill Tobin*1930 
8Dick Irvin1930–1931 
9Bill Tobin*1931–1932 
10Emil Iverson*1932–1933 
11Godfrey Matheson*1933 
12Tommy Gorman†1933–19341933–34 Stanley Cup championship
13Clem Loughlin*1934–1937 
14Bill Stewart*1937–19391937–38 Stanley Cup championship
15Paul Thompson*1939–1944 
16Johnny Gottselig*1944–1947 
17Charlie Conacher*1948–1950 
18Ebbie Goodfellow*1950–1952 
19Sid Abel1952–1954 
20Frank Eddolls*1954–1955 
21Dick Irvin1955–1956 
22Tommy Ivan†1956–1957 
23Rudy Pilous‡1957–19631960–61 Stanley Cup championship
24Billy Reay1963–1976 
25Bill White*1976–1977 
26Bob Pulford1977–1979 
27Eddie Johnston1979–1980 
28Keith Magnuson*1980–1982 
29Bob Pulford1982 
30Orval Tessier*1982–19851982–83 Jack Adams Award winner
31Bob Pulford1985–1987 
32Bob Murdoch1987–1988 
33Mike Keenan1988–1992 
34Darryl Sutter1992–1995 
35Craig Hartsburg1995–1998 
36Dirk Graham*1998–1999 
37Joel Quenneville2008–20183 Stanley Cup championships (2009–10, 2012–13, 2014–15)
38Jeremy Colliton*2018–2021 
39Derek King*2021–2022 
40Luke Richardson*2022–present 

Who is the Most Successful Head Coach for the Chicago Blackhawks?

Determining the most successful head coach for the Chicago Blackhawks involves a nuanced examination of both regular season and playoff performances, as well as any notable achievements. Among the coaches with notable achievements, one stands out prominently:

Joel Quenneville (2008–2018):

  • Regular Season: 797 games, 452 wins, 249 losses, 96 ties, 1,000 points, .627 Win%
  • Playoffs: 128 games, 76 wins, 52 losses, .594 Win%
  • Achievements: 3 Stanley Cup championships (2009–10, 2012–13, 2014–15), a testament to Quenneville’s exceptional coaching acumen and ability to lead the Blackhawks to the pinnacle of success.

Joel Quenneville’s tenure marked an era of unparalleled success for the Chicago Blackhawks, solidifying his status as the most successful head coach in the franchise’s history. His strategic prowess, leadership, and the ability to guide the team to multiple championships make him a legendary figure in Blackhawks’ coaching history.

In conclusion, the Chicago Blackhawks’ coaching lineage is a captivating narrative of resilience, triumphs, and the enduring pursuit of excellence. Each head coach has left an imprint on the team’s journey, contributing to its rich and diverse history. As we reflect on the list of head coaches from 1926 to 2024, Joel Quenneville’s legacy emerges as the epitome of success, leaving an indelible mark on the Chicago Blackhawks and etching his name in the annals of hockey history.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *