List of Boston Bruins General Managers (1924-2024)

Boston Bruins General Managers
Boston Bruins General Managers

The Boston Bruins, one of the original six teams in the NHL, have had a rich history filled with triumphs and challenges. A crucial aspect of their success has been the leadership provided by a succession of skilled general managers. From the inaugural tenure of Art Ross to the present era under Don Sweeney, the Bruins front office has seen remarkable individuals steering the ship. Let’s delve into the extensive legacy of the Boston Bruins’ general managers from 1924 to 2024.

Also Read: List of Arizona Coyotes General Managers (1971-2024)

List of Boston Bruins General Managers (1924-2024)

1Art RossNov 1, 1924 – Apr 1, 19543 Stanley Cups, 7 Division Titles, 24 Playoff Appearances
2Lynn PatrickApr 1, 1954 – Apr 5, 19652 Stanley Cup Finals Appearances, 4 Playoff Appearances
3Hap EmmsApr 5, 1965 – Jun 1967No Playoff Appearances
4Milt SchmidtJun 1967 – Oct 5, 19722 Stanley Cups, 2 Division Titles, 5 Playoff Appearances
5Harry Sinden†Oct 5, 1972 – Nov 1, 20005 Stanley Cup Finals Appearances, Presidents’ Trophy, 2 Conference Titles, 10 Division Titles, 26 Playoff Appearances
6Mike O’ConnellNov 1, 2000 – Mar 25, 20062 Division Titles, 3 Playoff Appearances
7Jeff Gorton (Interim)Mar 25, 2006 – May 26, 2006
8Peter ChiarelliMay 26, 2006 – Apr 15, 20151 Stanley Cup, Presidents’ Trophy, 2 Conference Titles, 4 Division Titles, 7 Playoff Appearances
9Don SweeneyMay 20, 2015 – Present1 Stanley Cup Finals Appearance, General Manager of the Year Award, 1 Conference Title, 3 Playoff Appearances

Art Ross (Nov 1, 1924 – Apr 1, 1954)

Art Ross, the inaugural general manager of the Boston Bruins, held the position for nearly three decades. During his illustrious tenure, he secured three Stanley Cup victories (1927, 1929, 1939) and led the team to an impressive 24 playoff appearances. His strategic acumen and leadership laid the groundwork for the Bruins’ early success in the NHL.

Lynn Patrick (Apr 1, 1954 – Apr 5, 1965)

Lynn Patrick took the reins from Ross, overseeing the team for over a decade. Under his management, the Bruins made two appearances in the Stanley Cup Finals (1957, 1958) and achieved four playoff berths, showcasing a competitive edge during his era.

Hap Emms (Apr 5, 1965 – Jun 1967)

Hap Emms had a brief stint as the general manager, serving during a period without playoff appearances. While his time was marked by challenges on the ice, his contributions to the team’s development are part of the franchise’s historical narrative.

Milt Schmidt (Jun 1967 – Oct 5, 1972)

Milt Schmidt brought success back to Boston, winning the Stanley Cup twice during his tenure (1970, 1972). His leadership saw the team claim two division titles and make five playoff appearances, solidifying the Bruins as a formidable force in the league.

Harry Sinden (Oct 5, 1972 – Nov 1, 2000)

Harry Sinden, a revered figure in Bruins history, managed the team for nearly three decades. His legacy includes five Stanley Cup Finals appearances (1974, 1977, 1978, 1988, 1990) and an impressive 26 playoff berths. Sinden’s tenure was marked by consistent success and a commitment to excellence.

Mike O’Connell (Nov 1, 2000 – Mar 25, 2006)

Mike O’Connell took the helm at the turn of the century, guiding the Bruins to two division titles and three playoff appearances. His efforts contributed to maintaining the team’s competitive edge in a challenging NHL landscape.

Jeff Gorton (Interim) (Mar 25, 2006 – May 26, 2006)

Serving in an interim capacity, Jeff Gorton provided stability during the transition period. Although his tenure was short, he played a crucial role in maintaining the team’s operations.

Peter Chiarelli (May 26, 2006 – Apr 15, 2015)

Peter Chiarelli led the Bruins to a Stanley Cup victory in 2011 and a Presidents’ Trophy in 2013-14. Under his management, the team secured two conference titles, four division titles, and made seven playoff appearances, cementing its status as a perennial contender.

Don Sweeney (May 20, 2015 – Present)

Don Sweeney, the current general manager, has continued the legacy of success. Under his leadership, the Bruins reached the Stanley Cup Finals in 2019 and secured the General Manager of the Year Award in 2018-19. Sweeney’s commitment to excellence is evident in the team’s consistent performance during his tenure.


Over a century, the Boston Bruins have witnessed the ebb and flow of success, and at the helm of this journey have been the general managers. From Art Ross laying the foundation to Don Sweeney continuing the legacy, each leader has left an indelible mark on the franchise. As we look forward to the future, the Bruins faithful can reflect on the remarkable contributions of these individuals who have shaped the team’s destiny.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *